great children books

 
 Reem’s comment:I liked this book so much that I can hardly fit my enthusiasm into one paragraph. Every time I read this book I learn new things. The idea of the bucket started me thinking about how I could use a “bucket” in my classes. As each student fills their bucket, I praise them. When the bucket is filled I can again praise them. The competition supports the ideas work working together.

Reem’s comment:I liked the idea that accepting a new person into the group is not always easy. Even though they helped the duck to get out of the cold, things did not go well. This story will help children to understand that if, like the duck, they want all the attention, the individuals will get angry. We learned as well, that when someone is inconsiderate it may be because they are lonely and want to prove themselves. When the duck leaves, the other animals realize that they like him being with them more than they disliked that he bothered them.
I related to this because at home we used to have a cat that bothered my mother. My brother took the cat away. But once the cat was gone, we missed the cat and hoped he would come back, even my mother.

The Sandwich Swap

Reem’s comment: I like spicy food. One of my Canadian friends “hates” spicy food. In particular he hates curry. We often disagree about how good some food tastes. This does not affect our friendship because first , we accept each other eating preference, second, we try each other’s food.
In The Sandwich Swap, the two girls don’t accept different food. Without trying the food, they say the other’s food looks “gross” or “yucky”. They stopped eating lunch together. Their friendship is broken. I know how I felt when I was young about having a fight with a good friend. However, just like me, the two girls found a way to like each other again. They simply tried each other’s food. Their friendship was okay again.
I liked the drawings in the book because they are simple, large, attractive and easy to understand. The words explain the picture effectively. In the last picture, each nation’s flag is shown on the table with all the different food. I feel the book is very interesting for children and also for me.
However, in my Arab culture, a food fight would never be accepted. If I were to read this book to children I would use another example. This story helps children understand that relationships are not built on eating the same food. Respecting each person’s food choice, even trying the other food, helps people understand each
The Three Pigs
Reem’s comment :I laughed and laughed when my friend and I read this story out loud together. In Saudi Arabia we have a similar story with sheep rather than pigs. When I learned about story in the article, “The Postmodern Picture Book: A New Subgenre” Goldstone (2004), I thought it was the traditional “Three Little Pigs” story. However, each page surprised me, I felt like a small child engaged with the story; a story I thought I knew, but not this version. Also the white pages in the book encourage the reader to make up their own story.

Reem’s commentThis book give me some new ideas about how to help children learn, through fun and an interesting way, new words. The book is very simple and easy to understand. There is a lot of empty space; the focus is just on the two characters and the words. There are some pages with just the characters, no words. This allows the reader, by looking at the two characters faces, to imagine what the characters are thinking. The characters are very polite, and at the end of the book they encourage the reader to read the book again.
Reem’s comment:   As a teacher I will, each day, with the help of my students, develop a schedule for the day. This will help build a conversation about schedules. We can see what each child might be scared about and support each child to move, step-by-step, to not be afraid. This is a good idea for children just starting school (and leaving home for the first time).

 

Reem’s comment: This is a book to be read out loud. The way the words are written, the simple pictures, it feels like a child is the author. It used a number of idioms that may need to be explained but help the reader to understand. The yellow sticky notes are used by Melanie to talk with Chester. The yellow notes are the way she “fights” with him, or shows him how to do things, and gives him advice. This book gives me lots of ideas about teaching and studying. The book is a “cool” book.

Reem’s commentThis is a true story! The summary above is describing reality! As a young girl Starr really lived in a wonderful country home and her family lived a simple life. They had lots of pets. One of the pets, Gertrude the goat, was supposed to help with the work, but instead Gertrude ate clothing and got into all kinds of trouble. Leanne is Starr’s cousin. Leanne, who is very different from Starr. Starr and her cousin fight over their favorite chocolate bar, but Gertrude eats the chocolate bar instead. Starr and her cousin Leanne start to laugh, and soon become friends.
 I find that this story shows that some of the “richer” people, like Leanne, feel they should have everything (like the chocolate). However, Gertrude’s action, eating the chocolate helps shows that no one should have special privileges. I really liked this story because both humans and animals were part of the story.

Reem’s comment: When I first moved to Canada, I had many of the same feelings as Farrah. I was lonely, could not communicate with people, and I cried a lot. After a while I realized these feelings are normal for both me and Farrah. I feel this book will help all children moving from one culture another.
 The goal for this book is to see the similarities we all have, regardless of language, dress, and religion. And that a young child can adapt to the different culture over time. Children will learn how group work is a good thing as the child and her classmates work together to use One Green Apple to make apple juice.
 The illustrations are easy to understand, and have good colors. The illustrations take up 90% of the space and make it very easy to understand the words. Given the story topic, the illustrations and the clear, simple language, I feel this book would be appropriate for children ages 4 to 8.
This entry was posted in Library Children's Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

